No Afro For Me!

Standard

Yesterday D and I enjoyed an afternoon at Okeanos Club Spa. Our session included relaxing in a traditional Russian sauna with steam called Banya, a Platza treatment, and then an hour long massage. What’s Platza? It’sĀ  the revitalizing experience of bundled birch leaves brushed against sauna-warmed skin. Basically, they take the birch leaves and beat you lightly with them…LOL. The calcium in the leaves penetrates your skin and then they plunge you in a cold water to seal in the moisturizing properties (just like I tell you how to condition your hair) šŸ™‚

I thought I would use this opportunity to steam my hair which I haven’t done in a while. I prepped my hair with tons of product throughout the week so it would be able to take advantage. I sat in the steam room for about 15 minutes and in the sauna for another 30 minutes. After I washed my hair and put in some leave in conditioner and I detangled with no problems. I figured I could leave the the spa with my hair in a wash and go style. I tied my hair back and away we went to lunch.Ā  As the day progressed, my head was killing me! I remember now why I don’t wear headbands. They give me the biggest headache. I tried to loosen it but it was still bothering me. Anyway, we had lunch at Artichoke Pizza and OMG what incredible pizza. While eating our Margherita (tomato,mozzarella, and basil) pizza I was able to forget about the slight discomfort from the headband but it was still lingering.

We decided to get some dessert at Chelsea Market. I went for a large cup of gelato (strawberry and vanilla) and D had a warmed chocolate cookie from Jacques Torres Chocolates. Dessert was enjoyed but our evening was cut short due to the pain my headband was causing me. I ended up taking it off while we were on the train going back home. At this point, I didn’t care if I didn’t look cute. So we get home and I as I always do, I have my hands in my hair. It was terribly dry and as I tried to run my fingers through it, all I could feel were knots!!!! I immediately grabbed my Desert Essence Shea Butter and Aubrey Organics conditioner so I could get the knots out and get the moisture back. About an hour later, I had detangled my hair, twisted each section and put on a plastic cap to do a deep conditioner to repair the damage I did by trying to wear a wash and go šŸ˜¦

This morning I washed my hair with Desert Essence Coconut shampoo with twists still in from the detangling I did the night before. I shampooed my scalp and let the shampoo rinse through my hair which also got the conditioner out. I put in another round Aubrey Organics and let it sit for 10 minutes and rinsed with cold water to seal. My hair returned to its soft texture and was ready to style.

I tried a new product I purchased last week called Kozama Care. I heard about this product from another blog and I did my usual research and could not find one negative review so you know what that means šŸ™‚ I went with sample sizes in the Califia Care line. This line is created for coarse or tightly coiled hair (type 4) and is designed to give your coils shine, softness, and minimize breakage so you can see your hair growth. I purchased:

  • Califia Moisturizing Cream (Aloe Butter, Shea Butter, Coconut Oil, Mango Butter, Algae Extract Behentrimonium, Pro Vitamin B5, Vitamin E)
  • Califia Moisturizing Spray (Distilled Water, Aloe Vera, Shea Oil, Jojoba Esters, Algae Extract, Behenetrimonium, Quaternium 87, Panthenol, soybean oil nettles, horsetail, rosemary, peppermint, marshmallow, Vitamin E, Vitamin C, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B5, Vitamin B6, Allantoin, Citric acid, vegetarian fragrance, allatoin, cinnamon cassia, potassium sorbate.
  • Califia Leave in Conditioner(Distilled Water, Dipalmitoylethyldimonium Chloride (A derivative of Palm Oil), Aloe Vera Butter, Shea Butter, Algae Extract, Behentrimonium, Aloe Vera Juice, Shea Nut Oil, Soybean Oil, Nettles, Horsetail, Rosemary, Peppermint, Marshmallow, Polyquaternium 10, Quaternium 87, vitamin E, vitamin C, vitamin B3, Pro vitamin B5, vitamin B6, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Cinnamon Cassia.)
  • Califia Styling Pudding (Shea Butter, Aloe Butter, Cocoa Butter, Sunflower Oil Dipalmitoylethyldimonium Chloride (A derivitive of Palm Oil) aloe vera, hydrolyzed collagen, acrylates, alkyl acrylates, Sodium Benzoate, Natural Carmel,Vegetarian Fragrance, Potassium Sorbate, Polysorbate 20, Cinnamon Cassia,)
  • Shea Butter Lotion (Purified water Dipalmitoylethyldimonium Chloride (A derivative of Palm Oil), Shea Butter, Shea nut oil, Coconut Oil, Aloe Vera, Soybean oil, Nettles,Horsetail, Rosemary, Peppermint, Marshmallow, Behenetrimonium, Quaternium 87, Jojoba Protein, Silk Amino Acid, Cellulose (Thickener), Panthenol, Vitamin E, Vitamin C, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B5, Vitamin B6, Allatoin, Citric acid, vegetarian fragrance, potassium sorbate, cinnamon cassia.)

To style my hair, I used the Califia Moisturizing Spray and Califia Leave in Conditioner as a base for my hair. These products work well as a detangler so even though I’ve already detangled, I still run my comb through my hair when I style. Using these 2 products together worked well to keep my hair damp while I worked to braid each section. Before braiding a section, I would then apply the Califia Moisturizing Cream making sure to work the product through root to tip. This is key to get a defined braid/twist out. Your styling product must be evenly applied to your sections for optimal results. I really like the feel of this product. It is not greasy and it smells like coconut and chocolate.

With my hair in 12 medium sized braids, I covered them with my silk scarf and spent the remainder of the day reading blogs and watching You Tube videos. I wanted to see how other naturals felt about wash and go styles and if they experienced the same thing I did yesterday. I did find a post from Kimmaytube who hit the nail on the head for me! Not everyone can wear their hair in an afro especially when your hair is getting longer. It is more prone to tangle and knot up. Tangles and knots lead to breakage which means you’ll never see length. I certainly learned my lesson!!!

Before I call it a night, I’m going to coat my ends with coconut oil for added moisture. Good night everyone šŸ™‚

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 responses »

  1. Great blog! love it! I called you on saturday to give you my results of the Rhassoul clay but now I know why you didn’t answer! lol! That Pizza really does look sooo good.

  2. What number did you call? I don’t see your number on my cell or home ph šŸ˜¦
    I was thinking about you this weekend wondering how it went!!!! Inbox me šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

